Nursing Leadership Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template (Section A and B) will become available

The Award

The Nursing Leadership Award builds on the themes of patient centered care and leadership, and honours those who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to excellence in these areas. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the National Health Leadership Conference.


This award is open to College members and non-members alike. To be considered for this award, nominees must:

  • be a nurse employed at the director or vice-president level who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to quality and leadership in nursing;
  • seek to advance nursing at every level, remove barriers between providers and build systems of quality care for patients;
  • have demonstrated measurable improvements in the programs that they have delivered within their organization; and
  • have made an impact outside of their organization.



Nominations must be made by a member of the College. 

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted via our online form by November 30, is a 250-word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the candidate should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. Section B is due on February 1.


Selection Committee


Sponsored by:

2020 Recipient: Dr. Sharon Goodwin

Dr. Sharon Goodwin

Dr. Sharon Goodwin has led the Victorian Order of Nurses (VON) frontline transformation to a thriving and adaptable provider of home and community care. Her numerous accomplishments include building VON’s Practice, Quality and Risk team to provide leadership and guidance to front line and management, and establishing a quality improvement framework that instilled best practices leading to VON’s achievement of Exemplary Standing through Accreditation Canada for two consecutive cycles.

Dr. Goodwin is a transformational leader and change-agent, with a long career characterized by articulating a vision, bringing people and systems together to bring the vision to reality, all with a focus on efficient, effective and evidence-based delivery of care that respects the needs and wants of patients and their families.

Click here for the full article

Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2020 - Sharon Goodwin

2019 - Vanessa Burkoski

2018 - Candy Garossino

2017 - Fiona Karmali

2016 - Scott Robertson

2015 - Sandra Lauck

2014 - Patricia O'Connor FCCHL

2013 - Doris Grinspun

2012 - Theresa Fillatre CHE

2011 - Lucie Tremblay AdmA, CHE