CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template will become available.

The Distinguished Leadership Award was introduced for the first time during the 2018 National Awards campaign. This new award combines the best aspects of two previous awards - the  College Award for Distinguished Service and the College Honourary Life Member Award - to create a recognition that will showcase an outstanding senior leader for their contributions to the health system, and to the College.

Nominations will be accepted exclusively from the College’s past chairs of the Board of Directors; College Fellows; Chapter Chairs and past recipients of the College Award for Distinguished Service and the College Honorary Life Membership Award. Previous recipients of the College Award for Distinguished Service and the College Honorary Life Membership Award are eligible to receive the CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award.

Sponsored by:


2020 Recipient: Graham Dickson, PhD

Graham Dickson is Professor Emeritus at Royal Roads University (RRU). While at RRU, from 1996 to 2009, Graham helped to develop the Master of Arts in Leadership for Royal Roads University and was the founding Director of the Centre for Health Leadership and Research. Currently he is working as an advisor to CCHL, the Canadian Health Leadership Network and the Canadian Society of Physician Leaders.

Often cited as the “Father of LEADS”, Graham was the principal investigator in a cross-Canada research project resulting in the “LEADS in a Caring Environment capabilities framework”, the most used leadership framework in Canada’s health system. LEADS is now endorsed by health authorities across Canada, and by most national health organizations.

Click here for the full article

Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2020 - Graham Dickson

2019 - John King CHE

2018 - Dianne Doyle FCCHL

Past College Award for Distinguished Services Recipients 

2017 - David Weger

2016 - Alice Kennedy FCCHL

2015 - Donna Towers CHE

2014 - Mark Neskar CHE

2013 - Maura Davies FCCHL

2012 - Don Desjardins

2011 - Bonnie Adamson FCCHL

Past College Honourary Life Member Recipients

2017 - Pat Coish-Snow CHE

2016 - Mark Neskar CHE

2015 - Bonnie Adamson FCCHL

2014 - Elma Heidemann FCCHL

2013 - John King CHE

2012 - Robert Smith FCCHL

2011 - Clifford Nordal FCCHSE, FACHE