2016 National Awards Program

Award Recipients | Celebrating Leading Practices Booklet | Photo Galleries

The Canadian College of Health Leaders, and the sponsors of the National Awards Program, are proud to honour the individuals, teams and organizations that are making a difference across the healthcare system.

The College was delighted to present its awards at the 2016 Honouring Health Leadership event at the Westin Ottawa on Sunday June 5, 2016. The 3M Health Care Quality Team Awards and the Robert Wood Johnson Awards were presented during the National Health Leadership Conference on June 6 & 7, 2016.

Those profiled were selected for special recognition; however, the 2016 competition included many outstanding programs and accomplishments. Look for an expanded version of the Celebrating Leading Practices Booklet, including descriptions of all award nominees, to be posted for free download on the College’s website later this summer.

Read the official news release: "The Canadian College of Health Leaders Recognizes Leadership Excellence through the 2016 National Awards Program"

2016 Award Recipients

3M Health Care Quality Team Awards
Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Across a Health System: Mississauga Halton LHIN
Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Within an Organization: BC Cancer Agency and Provincial Health Services Authority

Award of Excellence in Mental Health and Quality Improvement
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health 

Celebrating the Human Spirit Award
Ontario Shores

Chapter Awards for Distinguished Service

  • BC Lower Mainland : Michelle de Moor, CHE
  • Bluenose : Karen Mumford, CHE
  • Eastern Ontario : Elizabeth Woodbury, CHE
  • Greater Toronto Area : Rhonda Schwartz
  • Hamilton & Area : Deborah J. Carr, CHE
  • Midnight Sun : Stephen Jackson, CHE
  • New Brunswick : Jeff Carter, CHE
  • Northern Alberta : Brenda C. Rebman, CHE
  • Quebec : Marie-Suzanne Lavallée, CHE
  • Southern Alberta : Barbara S. Boyer
  • Southwestern Ontario : Terry W. E. Fadelle, CHE
  • Vancouver Island : Mark R. Blandford

College Award for Distinguished Service
Alice Kennedy, FCCHL

College Honorary Life Member Award
Mark Neskar, CHE

Energy and Environmental Stewardship Award
University Health Network

Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award
Island Health (Vancouver Island Health Authority)

Healthcare Safety Award
Baycrest: Antimicrobial Stewardship Analytics – Interprofessional Project Team

Innovation Award for Healthcare Leadership
Richard Tam

Mentorship Award
Wolf Klassen, CHE

Nursing Leadership Award
Scott Robertson

President’s Award for Outstanding Corporate Membership in the College
Roche Canada

Robert Wood Johnson Awards

  • Anna Brown : University of Alberta
  • Katie Hollis : University of Ottawa
  • Nico Miraftab : Dalhousie University
  • Sandra Racco-Cella, CHE : University of Toronto
  • Olga Sawatzky : University of British Columbia
  • Chang-Hung Yuan : University of Montreal

Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award
Jérémy V. Stevenson

Celebrating Leading Practices Booklet

The Leading Practices Booklet features summaries of award winning programs, initiatives and inspirational leaders. Download the booklet and learn about the leading practices and innovative programs that are positively impacting patients, staff and the environment. 

2016 National Awards Program - Celebrating Leading Practices


Photo Galleries

Award recipients