2014 National Awards Program

Award Recipients | Celebrating Leading Practices Booklets | Photo Galleries

The Canadian College of Health Leaders, and the sponsors of the National Awards Program, are proud to honour the individuals, teams and organizations that are making a difference across the healthcare system.

Award recipients were honoured on Sunday, June 1, 2014, at the College’s Annual General Meeting and the National Awards Gala, in Banff, Alberta. The 3M Health Care Quality Team Awards and the Robert Wood Johnson Awards were presented during the National Health Leadership Conference on June 2 & 3, 2014.

Those profiled were selected for special recognition; however, the 2014 competition included many outstanding programs and accomplishments. Look for an expanded version of the Celebrating Leading Practices Booklet, including descriptions of all award nominees, to be posted for free download on the College’s website later this summer.

Read the official news release: "The Canadian College of Health Leaders Recognizes Leadership Excellence through the 2014 National Awards Program."  

2014 Award Recipients

3M Health Care Quality Team Awards
Mount Sinai Hospital: The Acute Care for Elders Strategy
Island Health: Better Patient Journeys: Community-lead Strategies to Improve Hospital Flow

Award of Excellence in Mental Health and Quality Improvement
Capital Health: Forensic Sexual Behaviour Program Treatment Manual

Celebrating the Human Spirit Award
Carol Kushner & Donna Davis, Patients for Patient Safety Canada

Chapter Award for Distinguished Service

  • Assiniboia: Alan Chapple
  • BC Lower Mainland: Paul Gallant, CHE
  • Bluenose: Catherine MacPherson, CHE
  • Eastern Ontario: Gino Picciano, CHE
  • GTA: John Patcai, CHE
  • Hamilton & Area: Peter Conteduca
  • NEON Lights: Richard Joly, CHE & Hilary Dogbeson
  • New Brunswick: Gary Buchanan, CHE, FACHE
  • Quebec: Sharon Brisette, CHE
  • Southwestern Ontario: Joe Verga, CHE & Ross Graham, CHE

College Honorary Life Member Award
Elma Heidemann, FCCHL, LFACHE

College Award for Distinguished Service
Mark Neskar, CHE

Energy and Environmental Stewardship Award
Trillium Health Partners

Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award
Toronto Central Community Care Access Centre

Healthcare Safety Award
BC Cancer Agency (BCAA) & Vancouver General Hospital: BCAA Patient Transitioning Project

Innovation Award for Healthcare Leadership
Richard Alvarez

Mentorship Award
Rob Devitt, CHE

Nursing Leadership Award
Patricia O'Connor, FCCHL

President’s Award for Outstanding Corporate Membership in the College
Janssen Inc.

Robert Wood Johnson Awards

  • Dalhousie University: Victoria Smith
  • University of Alberta: Derek Clark
  • University of British Columbia: Julie Ho
  • University of Montreal: Geneviève Plamondon
  • University of Ottawa: Taylor Linesman
  • University of Toronto: Jeff Biddiscombe

Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award
Sarah Padfield, CHE

Celebrating Leading Practices Booklet

The Leading Practices Booklet features summaries of award winning programs, initiatives and inspirational leaders. Download the booklet and learn about the leading practices and innovative programs that are positively impacting patients, staff and the environment.

2014 National Awards Program - Excellence in Health Leadership Awards

2014 National Awards Program - Excellence in Health Leadership Awards, Extended Version

Featuring the 2014 award recipients, all nominated programs and shortlisted individuals.

Photo Galleries

Award Recipents