Healthcare Safety Award

This award recognizes individuals and/or teams that are committed to improving workplace and /or patient safety within the healthcare environment, through leadership, culture, best practices, innovation and change management expertise.

Sponsored by:


To download the 2016 nomination form click here.

2015 Recipient: Mount Sinai Hospital
Safe Patients/Safe Staff™ Program


Across acute care organizations, a growing subpopulation of patients admitted for medical/surgical care exhibit challenging behaviors due to delirium, dementia and/or mental illness. These behaviors compromise care and increase staff risk of physical harm and burn-out.

At Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH), the innovative Safe Patients/Safe Staff™ (SP/SS) Program was developed and implemented to improve outcomes for this vulnerable population and the staff who provide care. SP/SS is a novel, organization-wide strategy consisting of a behavioral rapid response team,
automatic electronic surveillance, standardized intervention tools and multimodal education.

View our 2015 Leading Practices booklet for more information on the Safe Patients/Safe Staff™ Program.


Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Leading Practices booklets.

2014, BC Cancer Agency (BCCA) & Vancouver General Hospital

2013, Mackenzie Health 

2012, The Credit Valley Hospital and Trillium Health Centre 

2011, The Wexford Residence

2010, BC Cancer Agency 

2009, Trillium Health Centre