Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award

This award is presented to a young Canadian healthcare leader who has demonstrated leadership in improving the effectiveness and sustainability of Canada’s health system.

Sponsored by:

To download the 2016 nomination form click here.

2015 Recipient: Reece D. Bearnes, CHE

Reece Bearnes’ professional and leadership experience to date has been truly unique. As a young health leader, he has earned a valued reputation for his abilities and skills. A dedicated member of the College, Reece is a graduate of Dalhousie University’s Master of Health Administration program. He was the inaugural recipient of a oneyear post-graduate Executive Fellowship in Healthcare Administration, and holds a Certified Health Executive designation with the Canadian College of Health Leaders.

Currently, Reece serves as Director, Medical Services, at Eastern Health in St John’s, Newfoundland, the province’s largest health authority and academic health sciences centre. As a member of the Senior Leadership Team, Reece is responsible for establishing, maintaining, and enforcing professional standards for Eastern Health’s 750 medical staff. He is a champion of collaborative leadership, and supports system transformation through integration of administrative and physician leaders. Reece has a passion for system performance and accountability, and has implemented significant change resulting in improved waitlist management, patient flow, and access to care.

View our 2015 Leading Practices booklet for Reece's full biography.


Recent Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Leading Practices booklets.

2014, Sarah Padfield CHE

2013, Amy Porteous

2012, Jennifer Duff CHE

2011, Emily Gruenwoldt Carkner

2010, Michael Power