Nursing Leadership Award

The Nursing Leadership Award builds on the themes of patient-centred care and nursing leadership, and honours those who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to excellence in these areas.

Sponsored by:

2016 Recipient: Scott Robertson

Scott Robertson, a Registered Nurse from Yellowknife, has worked for the Government of the Northwest Territories (NWT) for the past 15 years – most recently as the Senior Project Manager for the Medical Travel Program in the Department of Health and Social Services and previously as the Territorial Chief Nursing Officer.

Scott worked extensively in emergency and remote nursing before moving into policy. Improving the quality of care using data was the catalyst for his pursuit of a Masters in Health Economics, in which his thesis captured the significant variations in hospitalization rates between larger and smaller communities in the NWT and, in particular, between urban and rural Aboriginal populations. His ongoing work uses data analysis to identify and reduce barriers to access and improve health system design.

View our 2016 Celebrating Leading Practices booklet for Scott's full biography.

 Award poster


Recent Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Leading Practices booklets.

2015, Sandra Lauck

2014, Patricia O'Connor FCCHL

2013, Doris Grinspun

2012, Theresa Fillatre CHE

2011, Lucie Tremblay AdmA, CHE

2010, Jeanne Besner